Olympia Free Screening of Naomi Klein’s film "This Changes Everything" and community conversation

Movie Trailer: 

Olympia Screening of This Changes EverythingDoors Open: 1:00pm

Film: 1:30pm

Community Conversation: 3:00-4:00pm

Location: The Koval Performing Arts Center (KPAC) at North Thurston High School (NTHS), 600 Sleater-Kinney Rd NE, Lacey, 98516. The KPAC is located on the north eastern side of the NTHS campus, close to the football field. It is easily accessed off of I-5 (Exit 108 Southbound and Exit 108B Northbound). PLEASE NOTE: Due to construction at NTHS there will be no access from the south (teacher) parking lot to the KPAC. Please use the north (student) parking lot.

The Olympia Fellowship of Reconciliation’s Confronting the Climate Crisis group – and a dozen co-sponsoring groups (listed below) – invite you to watch the new documentary film about the climate crisis and opportunities to solve the problems. “This Changes Everything” is a highly respected film by Naomi Klein & Avi Lewis.

Immediately after the film ends, we invite you to stay for a well facilitated one-hour community discussion about what local people could do to address the climate crisis.

When: Sunday January 31. Doors open 1:00 pm. Movie starts at 1:30 pm. Community discussion ends at 4:00 pm.

Where: North Thurston High School’s Koval Performing Arts Center, 600 Sleater-Kinney Rd. NE, Lacey, WA 98506. From Martin Way, go north on Sleater-Kinney Road NE, turn right onto 6th Ave NE, and enter parking lot. Our friendly greeters will point you toward the right building.

We invite the public to participate. Admission is free, but we suggest a voluntary donation of $5 per person to help us cover our costs for renting the building and the film.

The Olympia Fellowship of Reconciliation’s Confronting the Climate Crisis group appreciates the help from Seattle’s Meaningful Movies Project for getting the film here. We intend the one-hour follow-up community discussion to help mobilize people and build a larger network to take positive local actions on climate issues. While the recent global climate summit in Paris was useful, the real action must be organized from local grassroots levels worldwide, including right here. We invite you to connect with these co-sponsors that are now doing the meaningful work on the ground locally:

Olympia FOR’s Confronting the Climate Crisis  www.olympiafor.org/Climate_Crisis.html

The Meaningful Movies Project  www.meaningfulmovies.org

Backbone Campaign  www.backbonecampaign.org

Climate Solutions  www.climatesolutions.org

Interfaith Works Earth Stewards  www.interfaith-works.org

350Seattle  www.350seattle.org

Black Hills Audubon  www.blackhills-audubon.org

Great Old Broads for Wilderness  www.greatoldbroads.org/directory-of-broadbands/washington-polly-dyer-cascadia

Green Party of South Puget Sound  www.greenparty-sps.net

South Sound Sierra Club Group  www.sierraclub.org/washington/south-sound-group

Thurston Climate Action Team  http://oly-wa.us/thurstonclimateaction/

Master of Environmental Studies Association at The Evergreen State College madeline.goodwin@gmail.com

League of Women Voters of Thurston County  www.lwvthurston.org
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Movie Information: Filmed in nine countries and five continents over four years, This Changes Everything is an epic attempt to re-imagine the vast challenge of climate change. Inspired by Naomi Klein’s international non-fiction bestseller, This Changes Everything, the film presents seven powerful portraits of communities on the front lines, from Montana’s Powder River Basin to the Alberta Tar Sands, from the coast of South India to Beijing and beyond. Interwoven with these stories of struggle is Klein’s narration, connecting the carbon in the air with the economic system that put it there. Throughout the film, Klein builds to her most controversial and exciting idea: that we can seize the existential crisis of climate change to transform our failed economic system into something radically better.

Thanks to the Meaningful Movies Project for making the film available to us. For more information, press release, resources and more, visit  http://meaningfulmovies.org/

Contact: Sue Gunn suegunn[at]comcast[dot]net .
If unavailable, contact Rod Tharp smcrae[at]earthlink[dot]net  

See much information about the climate at www.olympiafor.org/Climate_Crisis.html

  • January 31, 2016 at 1pm – 4pm
  • Koval Performing Arts Center (KPAC) at North Thurston High School
    600 Sleater Kinney Rd NE
    Olympia, WA 98506
    United States
    Google map and directions
  • 90 people are going
  • Rod Tharp

    360-951-1080
90 RSVPS

Will you come?